Marijuana distribution is being talked about all over the country. As cannabis becomes legal in various states, people across the country are applying for their cannabis retailer license. Some are looking to sell recreational marijuana, while others are planning to sell medical marijuana.
There are, of course, some states that are against the legalization of marijuana for any reason. Because marijuana is not legal for the entire nation, each state has had to come up with its own set of laws regarding the distribution of marijuana.
Steps to opening a California Dispensary
The state of California requires that a potential dispensary owner obtains a type 10 license, which is also known as a storefront retailer license. The fees for licenses are as follows:
- First time fee: $1,000
- Annual renewal fee: $4,000 – $72,000 (based on your income)
- Approval fees: $5,000 – $30,000 ( based on your scope and size)
- Permits and assessments: $0 – $30,000 (based on your scope and size)
Once you obtain a license, you’ll need to create a business plan. Deciding what type of company you want to be is the next step. Do you want to incorporate, form a partnership or a sole-proprietorship? What will your company be called? You can register your company name with the state for a minimal fee.
Next, create a floor plan for your store. Make of list of inventory that you plan to carry, your store hours, and how many employees you need. Then, consider how you will obtain the funding you need to get started. Most people apply for a loan from their local bank.
Opening a marijuana dispensary is a lot of hard work, and experienced legal guidance is essential for your success.