A Passion For Helping The Community.
A Focus On Results.
A Dedication To Excellence.

Photo of Clayton Clement

Clayton Clement,



Clay Clement is a business trial lawyer. His practice is largely devoted to real estate litigation, including property tax, broker liability, eminent domain, partnership and other business disputes involving real property. He has also handled contract, anti-trust, unfair competition, false advertising, title insurance and employment litigation.

He has handled major property tax cases throughout California involving oil, gas, geothermal and refinery properties. He has also handled escrow and title insurance disputes, contract cases and many cases involving the wine industry. He has tried over 100 cases before state courts in 20 California counties, in federal district and bankruptcy courts and before assessment appeals boards and state administrative agencies.

Mr. Clement is a member of the panel of ADR neutrals at The Arbitration and Mediation Center.

Mr. Clement is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and a member of the American Board of Trial Advocates, two organizations where membership is available only by invitation and only to the most capable and experienced trial counsel.

Mr. Clement has been selected as a Northern California Super Lawyer every year the list has been published, beginning in 2004, when he was named one of the top 100 lawyers in Northern California. His biography has appeared in Who's Who in America, Who's Who in American Law and Best Lawyers in America.


  • University of California, Berkeley, School of Law, Berkeley, California
    • J.D., Doctor of Jurisprudence - 00/1968
  • University of the Pacific, Stockton, California
    • B.A., Bachelor of Arts - 00/1965
    • Honors: cum laude


  • Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers
  • Northern California Super Lawyer
  • Top 100 lawyers in Northern California
  • Who’s Who in America
  • Who’s Who in American Law
  • Best Lawyers in America

Bar Admission

  • California, 1969
  • U.S. Federal Courts, 1969
  • U.S. Supreme Court, 1972